Allegan County Trooper Named Trooper Of The Year

The Michigan State Police Trooper of the Year award has gone to Trooper Blaine Bachman of the Wayland Post in Allegan County. Michigan State Police announced the 2017 Trooper of the Year awards this week at a ceremony in Lansing. MSP Director Kriste Kibbey Etue said Trooper Bachman is “keenly aware of the needs of his fellow troopers and also works hard to make a positive difference in his community.” State police say Bachman was recognized for “excelling in looking past the traffic stop to identify serious crimes and close investigations with felony arrests.” The agency also says he’s a mentor to younger troopers. He’s been part of the force since 2014. Also this week, Motor Carrier Officer Christopher Russo of the Jackson Post was named the Motor Carrier of the Year. MSP says Etue commended him for outreach and planning.